Paper Dolls · Uncategorized

Art Journal – January Paper Doll

12631411_1714933568750324_8805857732190198905_n

I had so much fun making this art journal age 🙂

I’ve never done paper piecing before but I was so inspired by Nichol Magourik that I decided to challenge myself and give it a go, it was so much fun I think I will join her in doing at least one of these a month.

My page is 7″ x 9″

I used the Julie Nutting Sea Sallie Doll by Prima.

I used Celebr8 Sea Treasures Paper for the background and the mermaids tail.

The quote is from Tim Holtz idea-ology Small Talk pack.

I used a page from an old book for the body and coloured it using Lyra skin tones pencils for her skin and Spectrum Noir markers for her hair (another first).

I didn’t have any sea themed stamps, so I Googled a few images, printed them out, fussy cut them and drew around them with my 0.1 Derwent Graphik black liner to give the “stamped” look.

I kept the page quite plain and simple but I did have to finish it off with a few pearls and rhinestones and then the final touch (which I can’t seem to catch on camera) is a lot of Wink of Stella Brush clear glitter all over her outfit, the coral and the shells.

And that’s it… now I can’t wait to make another one.

Happy Crafting

xxx

Leave a Reply

